VanSlam Summer Season (May 1st) 2017

So! A new qualifying season is underway to determine which poet will have a chance to become the next Vancouver Poetry Slam Individual Champion.

It’s crucial to understand the points system. You can read about how it works for qualifying for the summer slams

The points system should become clear very quickly as the season progresses and we start posting
results. With that in mind, here are the results from this week’s slam.

May 1st 2017

Sac: Santiago Ureña

Lucas Simpson

Delilah Forsythe

Rachel Taylor (First! 16 points)


Emory Oakley

Dave Rankin




Lip Balm

Spillious (Third! 4 points)

Marina Reid (Second! 9 points)


Updated Standings for the 2017 Van Slam Individual Champion Playoffs
The top 9 poets plus the winner of the Last Chance Slam
qualify for the Playoffs in September

1. Rachel Taylor 16 points

2. Marina Reid 9 points

3. Spillious 4 points



As always, double check my work and see if you find anything wrong