VanSlam Summer Season (May 15th) 2017

So! A new qualifying season is underway to determine which poet will have a chance to become the next Vancouver Poetry Slam Individual Champion.

It’s crucial to understand the points system. You can read about how it works for qualifying for the summer slams

The points system should become clear very quickly as the season progresses and we start posting
results. With that in mind, here are the results from this week’s slam.

May 15th 2017

Sac: Justin Bige


Brianna Price


Jaye Simpson (Second! 9 points)

Dave Rankin (First! 16 points)

Kay Kassirer

Second Hand Tick

Lip Balm

Mitcholos Touchie (Third! 4 points)

Emory Oakley

Delilah Forsythe

RC Weslowski

Updated Standings for the 2017 Van Slam Individual Champion Playoffs
The top 9 poets plus the winner of the Last Chance Slam
qualify for the Playoffs in September

1. Rachel Taylor 16 points

2. Julia Pileggi 16 points

3. Dave Rankin 16 points

4. Marina Reid 9 points

5. Coral More 9 points

6. Jaye Simpson 9 points

7. Kay Kassirer 4 points

8. Spillious 4 points

9. Mitcholos Touchie 4 points


As always, double check my work and see if you find anything wrong