VanSlam Summer Season June (12th) 2017

So! A new qualifying season is underway to determine which poet will have a chance to become the next Vancouver Poetry Slam Individual Champion.

It’s crucial to understand the points system. You can read about how it works for qualifying for the summer slams

The points system should become clear very quickly as the season progresses and we start posting
results. With that in mind, here are the results from this week’s slam.

June 12th 2017

Sac: Christine Bissonnette

Resting Butch Face



Jaye Simpson (Third! 4 points)

Jae Lew


Mitcholos Touchie (First! 16 points)

Optimus Rhyme


Emory Oakley

Salvin Chahal

Santiago Ureña (Second! 9 points)

Updated Standings for the 2017 Van Slam Individual Champion Playoffs
The top 9 poets plus the winner of the Last Chance Slam
qualify for the Playoffs in September

1. Rachel Taylor 32 points

2. Mitcholos Touchie 20 points

3. Dave Rankin 16 points

4. Julia Pileggi 16 points

5. Emory Oakley 16 points

6. Kay Kassirer 13 points

7. Jaye Simpson 13 points

8. Bryant Doradea 9 points

9. Santiago Ureña 9 points

10. Coral More 9 points

11. Brianna Price 9 points

12. Marina Reid 9 points

13. Spillious 4 points

14. Tia Meuller 4 points

As always, double check my work and see if you find anything wrong