CIPS Competitors 2016

The competitors for the 2016 Canadian Individual Poetry Slam are in, and it’s looking like it’s going to be an incredible year! Below in alphabetical order are the names of the 40 poets who will be competing for the title of Canadian Individual Poetry Slam Champion! Best of luck to all poets, we can’t wait to see (and hear) you in April!

Aaron Simm, Victoria, BC      (representing Victoria Poetry Slam)
Alan Leangvan, London, ON     (representing London Poetry Slam)
Alasdair, Saskatoon, SK     (representing Tonight It’s Poetry)
Andre Fenton, Halifax, NS
Andre Prefontaine, Toronto, ON     (representing Toronto Poetry Slam)
Apollo The Child, Ottawa, ON     (representing Capital Slam)
Bashar Jabbour, Waterloo, ON   (representing Kitchener-Waterloo Slam)
Bassam, Guelph, ON    (representing Guelph Poetry Slam)
Blue, Ottawa, ON    (representing Urban Legends)
Brent Peers, Toronto, ON
Coral More, Vancouver, BC     (representing Vancouver Poetry Slam)
Deirdre Lee
, Halifax, NS    (representing Word Iz Bond Collective)
d’j Saskatoon, SK
DMP, Ottawa, ON
Erin Dingle, Calgary, AB    (representing Calgary Poetry Slam)
Frankie McGee, Peterborough ON
Jacq Brass, Yellowknife, NWT
Jaime Silverthorn, Vancouver, BC     (representing UBC Slam)
Jake Rysz, Edmonton, AB    (representing Breath In Poetry)
Johnny Trinh, Regina, SK     (representing Word Up Wednesdays)
Jon Hedderwick, Peterborough, ON
Kat Moscone,Windsor, ON     (representing Windsor Poetry Slam)
Kathleen Driscoll, St. Catharines ON    (representing St. Catharines Poetry Slam)
Kay Kassirer, Toronto, ON
Kortnee Stevens, Winnipeg, MB
KT Job, Comox Valley, BC
Marina Reid Hale, Edmonton, AB
Matt Miller, Mississauga, ON
Niambi Leigh, Peterborough, ON    (representing Peterborough Poetry Slam)
Paint Fremmerlid, Edmonton, AB
Paul Finkleman, Calgary, AB
The P.O.E., Mississauga, ON    (representing We Flip Tables)
Rabbit Richards, Montreal, QC    (representing Throw Collective)
Scott Thompson, Victoria, BC
Shawna Dmitry, Richmond Hill, ON    (representing York Slam)
Sofia Waqar, Surrey, BC     (representing Slamapalooza)
Steve Currie, Winnipeg, MB    (representing Winnipeg Poetry Slam)
Tasha Receno, Vancouver, BC
Taylor Heywood, Kitchener-Waterloo, ON
TBA, Nelson, BC     (representing Nelson Poetry Slam)